LCCC minutes: May 2018 AGM approved minutes

Final minutes of the AGM of Leith Central Community Council, held in Nelson Hall, McDonald Road library on Monday 21 May at 7:00pm. (These were approved without changes at the 2019 AGM.)

Actions and decisions are red italic. nem con means that no-one spoke or voted against a decision.

The AGM was chaired by Don Giles of Leith Harbour & Newhaven Community Council.

1 Welcome, introductions, attendance and apologies

1.a Attendance

Jack Caldwell LCCC Julian Siann LCCC
Roberto Colasuonno LCCC Harald Tobermann LCCC vicechair
Jeremy Darot LCCC Bruce Ryan minutes secretary
Alan Dudley LCCC Nick Gardner FoMSP
Charlotte Encombe LCCC chair Cllr Marion Donaldson Leith Walk ward (Labour)
Andrew Harlick LCCC Ben Macpherson MSP Edinburgh Northern and Leith
John Hein LCCC Alan McIntosh Broughton Spurtle
Sheila Kennedy LCCC secretary Don Giles LHNCC
Iona McLeod LCCC PC Joe Kennedy Police Scotland
Lorraine Moore LCCC treasurer ~30 residents and visitors
Damian Sefton LCCC

1.b Apologies

Cllr Susan Rae Leith Walk ward (Scottish Green)
Cllr Amy McNeese-Mechan Leith Walk ward (SNP)
Deidre Brock MP Edinburgh North & Leith (SNP)

1.c Declarations of interest


2 Approval of the Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting

Approved subject to making hyperlinks work, correcting minor typos, and changing ‘Leith Walk’ to ‘Leith Street’ in comments on slide 05 (proposed C Encombe, seconded H Tobermann, nem con)

3 Annual Report: brief review of year

C Encombe (LCCC chair) read out her report.

4 Treasurer’s report

Accounts for FY17/18 will be proposed for ratification at LCCC’s June meeting, following independent scrutiny.

Actual spending was a little more than the anticipated £1300 due to extra costs (website, data protection etc)

Balance at end of FY17/18 = £1752·74

Predict total spend FY18/19 = £1835·00

Action: L Moore to circulate FY17/18 accounts and FY18/19 predictions to LCCC members in digitally publishable format.

5 Demit of current office bearers and election of office bearers

There were no other nominees apart from those noted below. All nominees confirmed their willingness to stand for these positions, and were elected nem con.

Position Nominee Proposer Seconder
Treasurer Lorraine Moore H Tobermann Nick Gardner
Secretary Sheila Kennedy Iona McLeod H Tobermann
Vice-chair H Tobermann Nick Gardner Jeremy Darot
Chair Charlotte Encombe Julian Siann Damian Sefton

Don Giles handed over chairing of the ordinary meeting to C Encombe.