Queen’s Baton Relay top level route announced as part of Glasgow 2014

Glasgow 2014 has  announced the list of Scotland’s villages, towns and cities which will welcome the Queen’s Baton Relay, the Commonwealth’s Games equivalent of the Olympic Torch.

Edinburgh will be the first stop on the baton’s final journey through Scotland and will pass through the following communities on Saturday 14 June 2014:

  • Riccarton
  • City Centre
  • Meadowbank
  • Leith
  • Portobello
  • Duddingston
  • Newington
  • South Queensferry.

Further street level details and a full programme of local and city wide events will be announced in the coming weeks.

The relay route will reflect the important role of sport by visiting schools, sporting facilities and leisure centres, encouraging communities to get behind Team Scotland, get involved with the Games and using its profile to get more people participating in sport.

We will continue to promote Edinburgh’s role in Glasgow 2014 to residents and specifically to those communities through which the baton will be carried.

The full press release from Glasgow 2014 and the City of Edinburgh Council’s supportive quote will be through the Council’s news centre.

For further information contact:

David Waddell, Senior Events Officer: David.waddell@edinburgh.gov.uk
Tel: 0131 529 4929

Or for Communications issues:

Lesley McPherson, Chief Communications Officer: Lesley.mcpherson@edinburgh.gov.uk
Tel: 0131 529 4030